A Map of Cool Ranch

And when I say “A Map of Cool Ranch,” I mean a map of Cool Ranch. All of Cool Ranch.

CoolRanch-FullMap

That was really fun to make! What I did was I took screenshots of all the skyways’ maps, then put them into GIMP. I selected the map part, which means I didn’t select the parts around the edges, then did Select > Invert to select only the bars on the sides. I deleted those then (after inverting the selection again) did Image > Crop to selection. After that, I selected only the skyway part, no map wanted. That was pretty hard.

CoolRanch-MapDev

I also had to fill in the spaces where the green arrow was, which was accomplished by some penciling in pink and some copy-pasting of the windlanes (with the exception of Arroyo Grande). Then I pasted them onto the main image and rotated them as necessary. After I had done this for all six skyways, I made sure everything fit together correctly, cropped down the image, filled in blank spots with empty pink skyway, and outlined everything with dark brown. Voila!

I got the idea of this reading the May 2013 Pirate101.com newsletter where it had a link to a Pirate101 Central thread where the user Arcane had already made one of Skull Island. Here is the link to that thread! Thanks for reading!

About Evan Silver

Hi, I'm Evan Silver! I run the blog piratesinthesky.com mainly and play Pirate101 under the same name, Evan Silver.

Posted on July 3, 2013, in Community, Image Editing, Worlds and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Cass Lifeblossom

    I really like this stuff, I wish this also happened to the Aquila skyway maps and the Wizard101 street maps.

  2. Cass Lifeblossom

    My membership ended in Pirate101 so I can’t email you the pictures for Aquila if you want to do the world that I want to explode. *buys one thousand pounds of bombs* Wish me luck . 🙂

Leave a Comment!

